March 2009 Doctor Visit

Last week (Thursday) we visited the Allergy/Asthma Doctor.  She took a look at Caleb and said his lungs sound much better.  No more whistling is what she said.  I’m continuing the Xopenex and Pulmicort 2 times a day.  He still has a “wet” cough.  It is occuring at night but it isn’t that bad.  Once the cough becomes less frequent the Doc. suggested I give him 1/2 a Xopenex in the morning and night then when it turns into a “dry” cough I will stop giving him Xopenex and continue the Pulmicort .  The goal is to keep him off the Prednisolone

I have also started giving him Nasacort at night.  The pollen count is so high here.  On Saturday it was over 11( that is on a scale of 1-12 with 12 being the highest).  Craziness.

So currently he is taking the following:

  • Pulmicort – .5mg/2ml – Morning and Night
  • Xopenex – .63mg/3ml – Morning and Night
  • Xlear Nasal Spray – After treatments above and after being outside. 
  • Nasacort – One squirt in each nostril at night after treatments above.
  • Allegra – One tsp. Morning and Night
  • Please let me know if your little ones are on medications for Asthma and what their routines are.

    3 Comments

    1. danielle10 said,

      March 31, 2009 at 9:53 am

      Hi! Glad you stopped by to comment on my blog, I will definitely have a look around here. It must be so frustrating for a little one to be suffering with allergies. I really hope that eases up soon.

      Danielle

    2. primarycat said,

      April 1, 2009 at 12:19 pm

      Thanks for stopping by my blog. As the mom of several asthmatics, I can relate to your sleepless nights and exhausting days with meds. Lately it seems I only manage to update my blog when I have sick kids. You’ll notice I have a new entry. Caleb seems to be traveling the same road my now 7 yr old did. The meds are almost exactly the same. Her allergies are peanuts and milk. Avoiding that has helped reduce the frequency, thankfully. His are harder to get a handle on, but hang in there. It get easier.

      • jenw109 said,

        April 19, 2009 at 4:27 pm

        Hey Cathy – I wasn’t able to link to your blog. Can you send me the link? thanks!


    Leave a Reply

